Posted in Kids, Life

Fertility in the Ambitious Female

In the medical community, a label gets placed on women who are 35 years old and up — AMA (Advanced Maternal Age).  Many women are well-accomplished, well-educated, and well-put-together to have it all.  Perhaps I should read the book Lean In to figure out how to do all this and still maintain sanity.  Today, was my first visit bc I’m 35 and I really wanted to see how my eggs are holding up and my fertility status.  After the ultrasound, it looks like I have 10 potential follicles on the left and 11 potential follicles on the right.  Each of those follicles can hold an egg.  My doc gave a great rundown on the different pathways for making a baby.  The two we discussed were egg preservation vs. embryo preservation.  I’m leaning to do a 70%/30% option.

IMG_6777.JPG
Obviously I need to talk to some people for potential donors or go visit a sperm bank.  I want to keep this as clean as possible and don’t really want any legal problems or financial issues to make my male friends tied to the embryo or me.  I want to keep it very fair; however, if the fathers want to participate and be involved, by all means… I’m all for it.  🙂

Author:

Grew up in a small Texas town. Heavily involved in extracurricular activities: piano, violin, dance (ballet/jazz/tap), tennis, horseback riding (english/western), taekwondo, basketball, soccer, volleyball, percussion, drumline, orchestra, band, mascot, pageants. I had the typical Tiger Mom upbringing. Went to college, medical school, residency, and fellowship. Amidst the ups and downs of life, allow me to share with you my journey...as an "ordinary" person who happens to be an MD.

Leave a Reply

