Posted in Gadgets, Life, Review, surfing, Workouts

Skateboarding: A beginner’s journey

I played around with a skateboard when I was a kid.  I thought it was neat to hang with the boys and skate in the driveway/street.  Well, I didn’t get much street time as the street was paved with loose gravel on tar — which melted in the Texas summers.

1404326731-3-reasons-skateboarders-make-great-entrepreneurs

I came across this YouTube vid: https://youtu.be/jdJjW7pknfE and decided I wanted to give it a try.  Why are so many middle agers trying something that kids do often?

Great advice on getting a skateboard and beginner techniques:


Which skateboard to get?

6219156235_f791430b2b_b


My current thoughts:

What I got:

What my husband got:


Any suggestions?  What would you get?

Author:

Grew up in a small Texas town. Heavily involved in extracurricular activities: piano, violin, dance (ballet/jazz/tap), tennis, horseback riding (english/western), taekwondo, basketball, soccer, volleyball, percussion, drumline, orchestra, band, mascot, pageants. I had the typical Tiger Mom upbringing. Went to college, medical school, residency, and fellowship. Amidst the ups and downs of life, allow me to share with you my journey...as an "ordinary" person who happens to be an MD.

Leave a Reply

